Capacity Design as per EN1998-1:2004

  • Building Engineering
  • midas Gen
  • 2015.03.19

Capacity design provisions are required to obtain the hierarchy of resistance of the various structural components necessary for ensuring the intended configuration of plastic hinges and for avoiding brittle failure modes.

In multi-story buildings, formation of a soft story plastic mechanism shall be prevented as such a mechanism might entail excessive local ductility demands in the columns of the soft story.

Concrete buildings are classified in three ductility classes DCL (low ductility), DCM (medium ductility) and DCH (high ductility) depending on their hysteretic dissipation capacity. For DCL concrete buildings, EN 1992-1-1:2004 may alternatively applied for seismic design situation. DCM and DCH concrete buildings correspond to buildings designed, dimensioned and detailed in accordance with specific earthquake resistance provisions, enabling the structure to develop stable mechanisms, without suffering brittle failures.

midas Gen provides automatic capacity design to satisfy the specified ductility classes (DCM and DCH) as per EN1998-1:2004 as well as EN1992-1-1:2004.

Download and exercise file for Free

Already a MIDAS member? Login and get instant access to all materials

Login as MIDAS Member